Discover the Roots
Clemmons is steeped in rich history dating back to when the Village was first settled in 1802 by Peter Clemmons. Originally called Clemmonsville, it quickly became a hub for agriculture and industry. Stagecoach lines ran through Clemmons on a regular basis and electric power generation at the Idols Dam Power Station helped to propel the Village into the industrial age.
Clemmons Moravian Church began as the vision of Edwin Theodore Clemmons, grandson of Clemmons founder, Peter Clemmons. Wishing to benefit both the Moravian church and his native community, Edwin provided in his will for the Moravians to establish a congregation and a boarding school in Clemmons. His instructions were that they erect a church, a school, and a parsonage. They were also to purchase land to be subdivided into building lots of an acre each and sold to Moravian families for one dollar per lot. Children of these families could then attend the Moravian School free of charge.
Edwin T. Clemmons (1826-1896), was a grandson of Peter Clemmons, founder of the Village of Clemmons. As a boy, Edwin was intrigued by the stagecoaches running through the area and the 1870 census lists Edwin Clemmons as a stage and mail contractor, owning several stage lines based in Salem and running to points such as Clemmons, High Point, Raleigh, Asheville and Wytheville, VA.
Idol’s Dam and Power Plant
In 1898, Forsyth County, NC, was at the beginning of its manufacturing boon, and it was the Idols Dam power station that made the light. It was the first commercial hydroelectric generating station in North Carolina (just west of Clemmons on the Yadkin River) to provide long-distance transmission of alternating current. Legendary inventor Thomas Edison was an early investor in the project.